DUNKIN’ DONUTS: REACHING OUT TO VEGANS…AND FAILING

This week the esteemed junk food restaurant Dunkin’ Donuts rolled out a new offering! Almond milk! It was because of “an increasing number of customer requests” for non-dairy options, said one of the company’s marketing presidents.

OKAAAAY.

Reporting on the new Dunkin’ development, the Boston Globe asserted, “Most of the traditional donuts do not contain milk or eggs, but since they come in contact with such products they can’t be labeled as ‘vegan.’ ’’

Come on down vegans! Have an almond milk latte with a vegan glazed donut that might have, well, accidentally, touched something with milk or eggs in it.

Not so fast.

I went to the Dunkin Donuts website for nutrition and looked up the ingredients for several types of donuts – I clicked on Apple Crumb Donut, contains milk and eggs; I clicked on the Apple Donut, contains milk and eggs; I clicked on the Apple ‘n’ Spice Donut, contains milk and eggs; I clicked on the Caramel Spice Donut, contains milk and eggs; I clicked on the Chocolate Frosted Donut, contains milk and eggs; I clicked on the Glazed Donut, contains milk and eggs; I clicked on the Cinnamon Cake Donut, contains milk and eggs; and I clicked on the Glazed Donut, contains milk and eggs.

Then I got tired of clicking.

– A Vicious Vegan blog post –

3 thoughts on “DUNKIN’ DONUTS: REACHING OUT TO VEGANS…AND FAILING”

  1. I’m glad Dunkin Donuts is offering almond milk, because it helps mainstream the concept of nondairy milk, and because I imagine some of their predominantly non-vegan huge customer base will order it and displace dairy milk sales.

  2. As well, please note that they use a dough conditioner for ALL of their bread products that is derived from feathers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.